top of page

Understanding The Seven Chakras - A Beginners Guide

Image via Freepik

Way before science and technology existed and the world knew nothing about evolution they believed in energies. Ancient cultures believed that everything present in the universe was made up of energies, including the human body. They believed that all living things carried centres of energies moving inside of us. These sources are called Chakras and play an important role in the balance and health of every individual body.

So how else can chakras help us? And how many are there?

The word chakra comes from an old Sanskrit word that quite literally means wheel. This is because the life force, or prana, that moves inside of you is spinning and rotating. The spinning energy has 7 centres in your body, beginning from the base of your spine and moving up to the top of your head. These seven chakras provide the right balance of energy in every part of your body, mind, and spirit for healthy and balanced living.

That being said, just the spinning of these chakras may not always lead to a positive being. All these chakras must spin in sync because even if one of your chakras spins too quickly, is slowed down, or blocked, it can affect your health and hence your surroundings. Thus, by learning more about the seven chakras, one can become more in tune with the natural energy cycles of your body.

Learning about the various chakras will not only help you connect with the physical, emotional, and spiritual imbalances but also help you be empowered through them. With these discoveries, you’ll not only begin to balance your chakras, but also live a healthy and harmonious life.

The Seven Chakras For Beginners

In this blog, we aim to teach you about chakras as a whole, before we dive deeper into each of them. So as you read this blogs, take a moment to tune into the body, and feel each of the chakras working constantly for your well-being. While different chakra exercises may seem odd to you as an individual, and/or a beginner, understanding each of them individually first is crucial.

1. Base or Root Chakra – Muladhara

“I exist”, is the core belief of this mantra. Related to survival and security, this chakra is located at the base of the spine. The colour and element associated with it are red and earth.

2. Sacral Chakra – Svadhistana

“I desire”, is the core belief of this chakra. Related to sensuality, sexuality, and desire for pleasure, the sacral chakra is located in the lower abdomen. The colour associated with the Svadhistana is orange and the element, water.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra – Manipura

“I control”, is the core belief of this chakra. The solar plexus chakra is related to our feeling of power on earth. The colour associated with the Manipura is yellow and the element, fire

4. Heart Chakra – Anahata

“I love”, is the core belief of this chakra. Related to natural love and compassion, the heart chakra is located at the heart’s center. The colour and element associated with the Anahata are green and the element, air.

5 . Throat Chakra – Vishuddha

“I express”, is the core belief of this chakra. As mentioned in the name, it is located where you speak the truth out in this world, i.e. at the throat center or communication center. The colour and element associated with the Vishuddha are blue and the element, air.

6. Third Eye Chakra – Ajna

The natural color of this chakra is indigo. Related to Insight, intuition, awareness and guidance, the sixth chakra is located between the eyebrows, and says, “I am the witness”.

7. Crown Chakra – Sahasrara

The last chakra, associated with the colour violet, is the Crown chakra. Representing spiritual connections, this chakra is located a little above the top of the head. The Sahasrara speaks volumes of “I am that I am” and also represents union, bliss, and the knowledge of being at one with all.

Chakras can help a lot when it comes to living a healthy and whole life. Begin by meditating a little bit each day, and assist your body’s energy system to work toward wellness on all levels.

Are you interested in learning how to heal and balance your chakras and live a healthy and balanced life? Look out for The Full Seven Chakra Healing course launching in September!



bottom of page